Hysto consult: Dr Rodriguez

Posted: May 6, 2010 in Bilateral Salpingo Oopherectomy, Changes, Pre-op, TLH-BSO, Total Laprocopic Hysterectomy, Transgender, update

After a minor incident with another GYN that made me feel completely uncomfortable I decided to go with a more trans knowledgeable GYN and I have to say I’m very very glad I did. I had my appt today with Dr. Rodriguez her in NYC. Very convenient and nice location in Manhattan. I did feel a bit out of place sitting in a GYN office but theres certain things as men you have to got to a GYN for whether CIS or Trans. Besides I really didn’t sit there that long at all, maybe about 15 mins then I was called back.

They took my vitals and weight, I gained a pound whooo hoo lmao. Then I was led to the room to wait on the dr. She comes in about 10 mins later after I’ve read just about every organ in the human female repro system 10 times lmao. She was really laid back and understanding, I told her about my pain and the frequent issues I’ve been having with it. She asked me a few more questions concerning family history with cancer, etc I told her and immediately after not to any surprise she agrees that I need to have TLH-BSO. For those that aren’t med term savy, that is Total Laproscopic Hystrectomy with Bilateral Salpingo oopherectomy.

What is a total laparoscopic hysterectomy – bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy?
This surgery removes your uterus, cervix, fallopian tubes and ovaries.

• Hysterectomy is the removal of your uterus or womb. The cervix,
which is the lower part of the uterus, is usually removed.

• Bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy, or BSO is the removal of your tubes
and ovaries.

I’m overly ecstatic at this point, but it was just tooooo easy lmao. Then she hit me with “i have to examine you” ughhhh I wanted my ultra sound to be my last “man smear” but whatever if it gets me where i need to be so freaking be it. She was in and out I lie to you not in about 2 mins hell it took me more time to get undressed lmao.

After she was done she went over how exactly she preforms TLH-BSO, recovery time etc etc. We also discussed my insurance plan and GRS policy that im covered under. She used the codes for GRS and got me covered very easy even though my gender marker is male. How sweet is that? She sends me on my way with a nice smile and a perspective surgery date to come later.

So I shall be waiting on a call with my date now….

salaam

Leave a Reply

